“Michelle’s Prize” – Scholarship Fund in Honour of Michelle Swenarchuk

Announcement and Request for Donations

Jun 05 2011

The Canadian Environmental Law Association has established a scholarship fund to mark its 40th anniversary of legal, community and social activism directed towards protecting our environment.

The scholarship – “Michelle’s Prize” - will honour the life work of Michelle Swenarchuk, lawyer, environmental activist and former Executive Director of CELA who passed away in 2008. Michelle was a dedicated advocate for environmental and trade justice in Canada who made innovative contributions to our understanding of the relationship between international trade and the protection of our environment.

We are pleased that Ursula Franklin and Vandana Shiva have lent their support to this project by agreeing to act as Honorary Chairs of the fundraising committee. Both women are internationally recognized for their contributions to educational, environmental and public law issues and worked with Michelle during her life.

We invite you to become a part of this important undertaking by contributing to the Michelle’s Prize scholarship fund. We will raise funds for a limited time period and then distribute the prize money to a student (or students) at the university level pursuing studies in Michelle’s specialties - environmental studies, environmental law or international trade and the environment. We are currently in discussions with York University and the University of Saskatchewan – two institutions where Michelle studied – to administer and award the scholarship.

Cheques may be made out to CELA’s sister organization - the Resource Library for the Environment and the Law – Michelle’s Prize and mailed to CELA's address. You can also make your contribution electronically using the link below and choosing Michelle’s Prize as the Fund Designation. A charitable tax receipt will be issued immediately by the CanadaHelps website for your contribution.

In establishing the Michelle’s Prize Scholarship, we hope to encourage a new generation of students to do research that will further CELA’s mandate to protect our environment and to practice law in the public interest. Michelle’s Prize is a fitting way to recognize CELA’s accomplishments and Michelle’s contribution to these endeavours.

For more information: John Lang, Chair of Michelle’s Prize Fundraising Committee langjb@sympatico.ca

Honorary Chairs: Ursula Franklin, Vandana Shiva

Committee Members: Lauren Alcorn, Laurell Ritchie, Scott Simpson, Toby Vigod, John Lang (Chair)

To donate, via the Resource Library for the Environment and the Law: please use the CanadaHelps.org on-line option. THANK YOU.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!